A Hunter Within – Anna Applegate

I received an advanced/review copy of this book. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content and honesty of my review.

A Hunter Within – Anna Applegate

He's the vampire king of the northern territories. She has no idea who she truly is. Together, they'll take on an evil that threatens to destroy them both.

When Research Scientist Jules Parker lands an internship at the most prestigious pharmaceutical company in the country, Falcone Industries, it’s not what she’d hoped. After all, there’s hardly a fine line between taking a volunteer and shackling someone down before injecting poison into their body.

As she attempts to uncover the truth, she finds her own life in danger. Until Seeley Ronan, vampire king, saves her life, introducing a strange and powerful connection between the two of them. He’s sexy, dangerous, and a major distraction...and reveals Falcone is run by rogue hunters who are harming innocent vampires in a quest for power.

Desperate to protect his people, Seely needs Jules’ help. But that means she’ll have to turn her back on the only path she’s ever known. She’s in way over her head, her world is about to change in a big way, and none of them could possibly be prepared for what comes next.

Fans of Charlaine Harris and Laurell K. Hamilton will sink their teeth into A HUNTER WITHIN, Book 1 in this exciting paranormal romance series by Anna Applegate!

One-Click on Amazon to start this addicting read today!

A Hunter Within by Anna Applegate
Series: The Alliance of Power Duology #1
four-half-stars
Genres: Romance, New Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
Format: ARC, eBook, Review Copy

This was a great read. It was kind of like a mix of Twilight, My Blood Approves, The Vampire Diaries, and Maximum Ride–while still bringing something unique to the table. Plus, the characters are a little older than the ones in the aforementioned titles, so there’s a bit more maturity in personality as well as a profession–i.e. the heroine, Jules Parker, has a career rather than being a high school student. There was also obviously the paranormal aspect, but underneath that is also a young woman whose world is shaken up and she has to figure out how to handle it; plus she finds out she has some supernatural abilities of her own–which are a shock, to say the least.

Discovering the company she had dreamt of working for is actually a front for an incredibly unethical–and honestly, just plain evil–operation completely turns her world upside down. Sure, her best friend and her aunt were a little less than encouraging when she said she wanted to work there, but she didn’t think anything like this could have been the reason behind their lack of enthusiasm. Once she makes this shocking and life-altering discovery, she does everything in her power to help the incredibly attractive vampire king and his comrades take this company down–no matter how insane she thinks he is at first.

Seeley is incredibly swoon-worthy. He’s so sweet to her and can’t help but feel inexplicably drawn to her, though he’s not exactly sure why. Later in the book, the king in him comes out and there are a couple “asshole” moments, but I also understand where he’s coming from. He’s trying to look out for his entire kingdom, not just himself, and that’s hard to do–especially with a crazy, evil scientist intent on destroying your race. Jules’ involvement with her company is somewhat of a mystery to him at first, and it isn’t until much later that they realize the only way they’re going to make it out of this mess alive is if they trust each other.

The story was great. I found myself glued to the pages and I did my best to speed read so I could find out how it ended. There are a few twists and a couple tearjerker moments; there’s also a pretty decent cliffhanger that makes me want to read the second book ASAP, lol. In all, I loved this book.

I would definitely recommend for anyone who enjoys paranormal/fantasy romance with a few twists and thrills! And, as always, if you read this book, please come back to this post and tell me your thoughts 🙂 I love book discussions!

Follow me for more book-related reviews, news, and more!

          

 

four-half-stars

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*
*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.